Work :-)

Inbox brings me news that I have some language editing work coming my way (essentially, making sure that the thoughts of writers for whom English is a second (or even third) language are properly expressed, linguistically and grammatically, and with decent syntax). Working with language and with forms of expression is something that I have been doing for over twenty years, not least with the regular, and continuing, issues of the SEER Journal for Labour and Social Affairs in Eastern Europe, and undertaking a course in philology is something I have been considering for quite some time, even prior to my decision to move to Uist.

What’s coming is a quite substantial project (a book of twelve chapters) and it will be my first engagement as a freelancer. After a summer of re-learning long-forgotten DIY skills as regards our new house (which is indeed still standing), it’s exciting to have (paid) work again: but also, after a break of three months away from formal employment, it’s just a little bit daunting, too.

At least the office desk painstakingly brought over from the mainland and carefully erected in our office is going to be used. As indeed is the office itself. I just need to work out how many hours/days it’s going to take me to copy-edit 98,000 words. Now, where’s that piece of string gone?

Leave a Reply

